All Party Parliamentary Fisheries Group



Minutes of the Annual General Meeting held on Wednesday 12th July 2017 in Room 15.

Attendance: Peter Aldous MP, Rt Hon Alistair Carmichael MP, David Duguid MP, Scott Mann MP, Sheryll Murray MP, Melanie Onn MP, Liz Saville-Roberts MP.

1. Apologies for absence

Apologies were received from Cat Smith MP, Rt Hon Lord Tebbit CH, Lord Teverson, Martin Vickers MP.

2. Minutes of the previous meeting

The minutes of the previous meeting were circulated and approved.

3. Election of Officers

Given the breadth of issues facing the fishing industry it was agreed that there is a requirement to look at both the catching and processing sectors and therefore it was appropriate to elect Co-Chairs of the Group.

The following Officers were duly elected:

Co-Chairs: Sheryll Murray MP and Melanie Onn MP.

Vice Chairs: Rt Hon Alistair Carmichael MP, David Duguid MP, Liz Saville-Roberts MP and Baroness Wilcox.

Secretary: Peter Aldous MP.

It was agreed that the Scottish National Party and Democratic Unionist Party would be approached with a view to nominating representatives to become Vice Chairs.

4. Programme of work / Forthcoming events

A discussion on the Group's forward programme then took place. Details to be confirmed.

5. Date of next meeting

October 2017, date to be confirmed.